Formula 1 Miami Grand Prix 2022 results: Max Verstappen takes the win; Ferrari continues hot start


On Sunday, Red Bull’s Max Verstappen took the checkered flag in the 2022 Miami Grand Prix, extending his trend of winning races when he finishes them. This is his third victory of the season.

Ferrari drivers Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz completed the podium, continuing Ferrari’s podium finishes in 2022. Leclerc maintains his driver championship lead over Verstappen.

Elsewhere, George Russell had a fantastic drive: he began 12th and finished sixth, maintaining Mercedes’ Jekyll-and-Hyde start in 2022.


The Sporting News has provided live updates and lap-by-lap highlights for Formula One’s inaugural 2022 Miami Grand Prix, which can be found below. Follow along for full results, highlights, and more from Sunday’s Formula One race. (All times are in Eastern time.)

Results of the 2022 Formula One Miami Grand Prix
The following are the complete results from Sunday’s Miami Grand Prix (waiting official results):

Place Driver (Team)
1 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
2 Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
3 Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
4 Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
5 George Russell (Mercedes)
6 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
7 Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
8 Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
9 Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
10 Alex Albon (Williams)
11 Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
12 Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
13 Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
14 Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
15 Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
16 Mick Schumacher (Haas)
DNF Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
DNF Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
DNF Lando Norris (McLaren)
DNF Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)

Miami Grand Prix 2022 starting grid

George Russell was knocked out in Q2, but in quite the role reversal, Lewis Hamilton put himself in position for a chance at a run at a podium on Sunday.

The lineup for the race:

Position Driver (Team)
1 Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
2 Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
3 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
4 Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
5 Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
6 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
7 Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
8 Lando Norris (McLaren)
9 Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
10 Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
11 Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
12 George Russell (Mercedes)
13 Seebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
14 Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
15 Mick Schumacher (Haas)
16 Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
17 Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
18 Alex Albon (Williams)
19 Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
20 Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *